It’s not all bad!

Posted: October 11, 2010 by Jender in Do try this at home!, Good news

When I first took a paper in philosophy as a female undergraduate I had extremely encouraging feedback from the tutor, who was also female. She encouraged me to continue. Since then I have had a series of encouraging and supportive male lecturers, and supervisors. I was in an MA programme with only one female faculty member, and am in a PhD programme which is the same. Despite this, I have never felt trivialized or discriminated against by virtue of being female, or seen anything to suggest that male members of the faculty treated the female faculty in that way: on the contrary. Despite the horror stories, there are some departments who do a great job of treating female students in just the same way they treat male students!

Comments are closed.