Because if you had been, it would all have been OK?

Posted: October 21, 2010 by Jender in bullying

Back in the late 1980s–I remember because it was just before my daughter was born–one of my logic classes went bad. Students openly ridiculed me, imitated me when my back was turned to get laughs, put insulting notes on my desk and, at the end of the semester, collaborated to give me the worse course evaluations of my life. They made it clear that they thought I was a freak and a buffoon, and that I had no business teaching at their university.

A few years later I met one of the students from that class socially. It came out in the discussion that I had been pregnant when I taught the class. The student, flustered, apologized. “I’m sorry,” he said, “we all thought you were just built like that.”

Comments are closed.