What non-philosophers think about women in philosophy

Posted: February 13, 2013 by Jender in pretty women are stupid

I am currently an undergraduate student of philosophy at a Catholic-Vincentian University in NYC, I also work as a server in a rather busy and popular restaurant in Times Square, and am frequently bombarded with questions about my academic pursuits, my favorites are:

“Why are you studying philosophy?”
“That’s not going to get you hired!”
“Oh so you’re boyfriend is going to make all the money”
“But you’re too pretty for that”
“How are you going to have children and get married?”
“OHHHH, wait do you like women?”

And so many more that I can’t post without being specific, it seems as if there is no respect or help for any female in our field. And I am so glad to have found this site!

Comments are closed.