Because who would be interested in a woman’s thoughts?

Posted: September 23, 2010 by Jender in objectifying women, sexual harassment, sexual innuendos, trivialising women, Why else....?

When I was a junior faculty member, I returned from a trip to another university to give a talk.  I entered the lounge where faculty and grad students gathered and a colleague asked me how the talk went.  I conveyed my positive experience and added that a physicist came to the talk (it was on metaphysics) and after the discussion came up to ask further questions.  I was surprised and pleased by this.  My colleague replied: “Are you sure he was really interested in your talk and not something else…[hint, hint]?” I was shocked, but everyone else in the lounge (all male) had a good laugh.

Comments are closed.