On feeling at home

Posted: October 7, 2010 by Jender in Good news, presence of women

In the mid 1990s, I did my undergrad work at a well-respected “public ivy” in the midwest. I studied philosophy almost entirely (all but 2 classes) under white women in their 30s (or, at least, my early 20s self thought these women were in their 30s). I thought that philosophy departments were generally full of young(ish) white women (i.e., people I could easily imagine myself being in 10 or so years). As I entered grad school and learned more about the profession, I realized both how wrong my initial impressions were, and lucky I was as an undergrad. Now, I work in a department where the most senior faculty member is a feminist philosopher. I’ve been exceptionally lucky to always have a departmental “home” where the philosophical legitimacy of both women and feminism is never questioned.

Comments are closed.