Great pep talk

Posted: October 10, 2010 by Jender in women are tokens

When I was on the job market in the late 1980s, I received many more calls for interviews than two of my male peers who were also looking. A couple of weeks before the Eastern APA, the Department Chair (also my dissertation advisor and the advisor of the two male students) called me into his office to tell me that the reason I had so many interviews was because I was a woman and that, furthermore, I was NOT a stronger candidate than the two male students who had fewer interviews. I was instantly deflated and went on the job market feeling like a token and an imposter. We all got decent jobs and 20 years have passed; my research productivity and professional recognition are orders of magnitude larger than my male peers. How well might I have done if my department chair had said something to boost my confidence?

Comments are closed.