Advice regarding promotion

Posted: October 11, 2010 by Jender in Uncategorized

Six years after tenure when I was eligible to go up for promotion to Full Professor, I sought my chair’s advice to see if I would get his support (he was not supportive on my tenure case). When I was met with a lukewarm response about whether I had enough published, I delayed. Several years later, with a new chair in place, I conferred with the Dean’s office, and was strongly advised to have a book (i.e., have a contact in hand by such and such a date). I delayed again until I had the book contract, four years after eligibility for promotion. Three months after I was promoted, a male colleague went up for promotion after six years past tenure, with no book and fewer articles (and not in top journals) than I had at the same time. He was supported up the line, including by the new Dean, who apparently did not know either the policy of his predecessor, or did not consider how a change in policy would mean that women faculty, who are typically advised to err on the side of caution, would be disadvantaged in terms of their careers and financially.

Comments are closed.