What DO you people want?

Posted: October 11, 2010 by Jender in feminism isn't philosophy

The first year of my PhD, I gave a paper at my department’s graduate student colloquium on feminist philosophy and medical practices involving women’s bodies. The first question during the Q&A was from a male graduate student, who demanded, “What do you people want, anyway?” He then proceeded into a rant about a woman who had just broken up with him. I was so flustered by the “you people” jab that I only managed to mutter something about him having a good point about the need for positive policy prescriptions to accompany critical feminist analysis, but that this wasn’t the project of my paper.

He later apologized, after the formal Q&A was over. Though this did not stop him from openly asking all of the new women graduate students in the years after mine if they had boyfriends on first meeting them.

Comments are closed.