If women were good at philosophy, surely I’d notice them making good points

Posted: October 12, 2010 by Jender in ignoring women

This happened about 5 years ago:

My wife and I were both philosophy graduate students, and both commenting on papers at a conference. Her comments were very good, devastating to the paper on which she was commenting. But when it came time for the response from the author, her comments were brushed off with little response. The first questioner was an important person in philosophy, who pressed the same point my wife had made (though I don’t think he took himself to be doing that). Suddenly, there was a Serious Problem.

Immediately after the session, I heard a friend sympathizing with the author: “Don’t worry, man, you were taken down by one of the best.” I successfully fought off my urge to add “And twice over, at that.”

Comments are closed.