How not to support the women in your program

Posted: October 13, 2010 by Jender in women are tokens, women have it easy

I am currently a first-year female grad student in a highly ranked philosophy program. While I was delighted to be accepted by a handful of top schools last year, I was horrified to find that no less than 3 of my acceptances were eventually accompanied by some (in all cases, male) member of the faculty directly stating that my gender played a significant part in my admissions decision. It would be naive to doubt that striking a gender balance requires some brand of affirmative action, but when female students are made to feel that they do not really deserve to be in the position they occupy, the good intentions behind the admissions policy are negated to some extent. I declined my place at each of the offending schools.

Comments are closed.