On the possibility of parenthood

Posted: October 14, 2010 by Jender in assumptions about mothers

During a graduate student professional development brown bag for MA students, a senior faculty member (and director of graduate studies) advised all the students not to have children until they were tenured (if we hoped to be tenured), but added that it might not be possible for all of us given biological considerations if we hoped to have children. (There were only two women in this room out of about 20 students, I might add.)

This same professor, when I got married in my second year, jokingly told me to just be sure not to have any kids.

I’m really glad this one faculty member has left for another school now. I have never encountered any negative feedback from other people in my department. If anything, my advisor and committee members (all older male philosophers, I might add) have been nothing but congratulatory about my marriage and pregnancies. I’m pregnant with my second child now and will be defending my dissertation soon – and on schedule!

Comments are closed.