Early nurturing

Posted: October 15, 2010 by Jender in Good news

I was a graduate student in a major department in the early 2000s. Although I witnessed many bits of sexism here and there, my biggest impression comes from how supportive my professors, both male and female, partly were BECAUSE I am a woman. I could tell that they thought twice before shooting down my inept comments in a seminar in their customary way and really went out of their way to encourage me. In many cases they were harsher on my male fellow grad students. Coming from a very non-traditional background I needed all the help I could get and gladly received this extra support. It made such a big difference in my career! When I got a job and left the department I could see the contrast between the wonderful hot-housing I received and the rest of the philosophical world. But by then I could deal with it! I am still grateful to my PhD program for my making my first philosophical home safe and humane.

Comments are closed.