Nah, no need to check further

Posted: October 15, 2010 by Jender in But surely you're male

I share a somewhat unusual surname with a male philosopher who is roughly my equal as far as prominence and publication record go. A couple of years ago, my co-author and I were invited to submit a paper to a fairly prestigious edited volume. The paper was directly in my area of expertise, and clearly related to other things I have published. It has nothing to do with the work of the homonymous male philosopher. When the press put out the advertisements for the book, they listed the paper as written by my co-author and the male philosopher with my last name. I presume that somehow they didn’t get my first name when they got the paper. Apparently, when they googled my last name and got hits for both me and to the male philosopher who wrote on completely different stuff, they assumed the male philosopher was the co-author and that this was so obvious as to be not even worth confirming.

Comments are closed.