How to help, and why one person did

Posted: October 16, 2010 by Jender in Do try this at home!, Good news

When I was first hired by my current department, I made it known that I would be a long distance commuter as my children were in high school and we had agreed as a family to try this arrangement so that our children could finish up at their current schools, which were quite good (and better than schools in any areas I would have been able to afford near my new job, which is in a very expensive city).

My female department chair responded with, “Well, then let’s give you a TWTh teaching schedule so you can make the most of your time on your visits home!” She followed up with this by introducing me to the right people on campus so that I could save money for flights home by living on campus rent-free (exchanging 10 hours a week of work with students in residential housing for rent).

It wasn’t until later that I learned of her experiences with sexism in the profession and her vow to make the department supportive for anyone with family obligations.

Comments are closed.