What to do/What not to do

Posted: October 18, 2010 by Jender in Do try this at home!, sexual innuendos

I was a graduate student during the new millennium. My graduate program had a special party once a year to host and chat with a famous visiting speaker. One speaker had said he was looking forward to speaking with me at the party. And, at the party, he said flirtatiously that if he continued to drink apace, I might need to walk him back to his hotel room and tuck him in. In contrast, a different speaker, when asked whether he would mind fielding a question about his talk, said gamely that it would be rude not to ask a philosopher a philosophical question. This started a very lively and fun philosophical conversation – the kind I imagine my male colleagues have more regularly, without fear of having to police appropriate boundaries, at restaurants/bars after conferences/talks.

Comments are closed.