Astouding rudeness, and simple decency

Posted: October 19, 2010 by Jender in bullying, Do try this at home!, trivialising women

This happened at the beginning of the 21st century. When I gave my very first talk at a major conference as a graduate student, my commentator ridiculed my argument and even questioned whether my paper was a philosophy paper. He did not seem to have read my paper closely and he did not give me his comments to read before he delivered them. When it was time for me to respond to his comments, he kept interrupting me. He even interrupted me when I was answering questions from the audience. I do not think this would have happened to me, were I male. The good news however is that I got an email after the talk from a senior philosopher who was in the audience: he apologized for the behavior of the commentator, said that he enjoyed my paper, and wished me best of luck in the profession. That email saved the day for me.

Comments are closed.