Bad environment/good environment

Posted: October 21, 2010 by Jender in being afraid to speak, Maleness of philosophy

I was a grad student in one of the departments that has already been described here (I recognized it) so I don’t want to retell that part of my story, but I want to say two things. First, what you are doing with this blog is so good and so important. The worst part of my ordeal was feeling like I was alone, feeling like what was happening was entirely my fault, and therefore, being too ashamed to speak up. This blog will make people pay attention to what’s going on around them and that has to help. Second, when I was in grad school it wasn’t at all uncommon for me to be the only woman in a seminar of 12-20 people. Sometimes there might be as many as two other women. A few years after I left philosophy I went to law school. The law school had made a conscious decision to maintain a 50-50 split between men and women among the students and to hire a nearly equal number of women professors. That made a huge difference in the atmosphere. Women weren’t a curiosity. There was safety in numbers.

Comments are closed.