Huh?

Posted: October 23, 2010 by Jender in sexual innuendos

Early on in my graduate studies in the late 90s at a highly ranked philosophy department the following incident happened to me. One evening I came into the graduate student computer cluster to check my email. Two other graduate students were already there, both more advanced than me, male, and now tenured at ranked departments. One of them briefly glanced at me, snorted, and said: “You look like a Polish prostitute!” Then he turned back to his work. The other student briefly laughed out loud and went on with his business. The comment would have been out of place and hurtful even if it had been true. As it is, I am not Polish (nor do I look particularly Polish, as far as I can tell), I was not wearing any make-up, and my outfit consisted of ordinary Jeans, sneakers, a T-shirt, and an old vintage jacket that used to belong to my grandfather. I don’t think I have ever seen a polish prostitute, but I am pretty sure that grandfather-jackets and sneakers are not among their
preferred accessories.

Comments are closed.