Hmm… why didn’t I get that job?

Posted: October 27, 2010 by Jender in Uncategorized

Less than five years ago I applied for an endowed university-wide professorship at a medium-sized Catholic university. During my day on campus interviewing, I met with the university president. He thumbed through my vita, tapped his pencil on the title of a paper with the word “feminism” in it, and said, “You wrote a paper on feminism; you must be a feminist; feminists support abortion; the Catholic church does not.” And then he looked up at me. I was floored but managed to adroitly correct his logic without saying anything about my own views on either religion or abortion, which I didn’t think were any of his business.

A week later the search committee recommended me to the president as their top candidate. I never got the offer.

Comments are closed.