Unusual conference ratio

Posted: October 29, 2010 by Jender in presence of women

I just returned from a conference in Germany in my area of the history of philosophy. There were presenters from Austria, Germany, Finland, France, Italy, the UK, the US and Canada, and the program and so the conference room had more women than men. I can’t recall a conference I’ve been to that was not focused on feminism or women philosophers that had this kind of gender balance. It was refreshing, most especially because the papers and discussion were strong and engaging. I asked the conference organizer whether it was her intent to have a program weighted with women philosophers, and she indicated that it was a bit of a fortuitous accident. She just asked people whom she knew had done work on the theme of the conference.

Comments are closed.