Yes, it’s possible to be a woman and not do feminist philosophy

Posted: October 31, 2010 by Jender in but surely you do feminist philosophy

I’m a graduate student in a women friendly philosophy department. My research area is not in feminist philosophy. My first year at the program, every time I would run into the GPD he would ask me how the Certificate Program in Womens Studies was going (this is an option in my institution). This incident happened about 2-3 times. I would always smile and say that I’m not doing the certificate. I was also approached by another faculty member about a year or two later who urged me to pursue this certificate even though, again, it is not my area of research. I asked several male colleagues (who aren’t doing the certificate) if they had been urged by faculty to enroll in the certificate and, surprise!, they hadn’t.

Comments are closed.