Bad woman/good woman

Posted: November 2, 2010 by Jender in Uncategorized

I have been a faculty member in a philosophy department for a number of years. For most of those years, there have been just two women in the philosophy department, me and another woman either senior or junior to me. One of us always ends up in the “good woman” role and the other in the “bad woman” role. Luckily I was sometimes the “good woman” otherwise I would never have received tenure! I have seen three promising women not make it to tenure in my department, and one senior woman end up on “permanent disability” for reasons not unrelated to her treatment by the male members of the department. My conclusion: two women in a philosophy department is not a critical mass sufficient to normalize the presence of women.

Comments are closed.