Befriend your harasser “for the good of the department”

Posted: April 15, 2011 by Jender in bullying, harassment

A male colleague regularly tells people I don’t deserve my job, couldn’t possibly know as much philosophy as I claim to know, and that he will do everything in his power to block my promotion. He reported, to the VPAA, that I went into his office one night and stole some of his files (I’m not sure what these files are supposed to contain). This resulted in an investigation, by the VPAA and security, into my whereabouts on that night. He has made these claims, and worse, in front of my students, as well as one on one, in emails to me, and behind my back to faculty in multiple departments (they report it back to me). After three official complaints he continues to say these things to others, but not to me. My previous department chair (a woman) told me to initiate a friendship with him and smooth things over, “for the good of the department.”

Comments are closed.