Just men.

Posted: August 4, 2011 by Jender in Uncategorized

I walked out from a panel for the first time. By and large, my experience in philosophy as a woman has been relatively decent. I have at times been told I am not “like other women philosophers,” ostensibly as a compliment. Sadly, I suspect they are cluing into the obnoxious and aggressive part of my philosophical behavior that I myself am not particularly fond of. Anyway, today I witnessed the most egregious programming sexism I’ve ever seen. It’s the anniversary of the publication of Thomson’s “Defense of Abortion.” So X hosted a special panel, and it was only once it started that I realized I was confronted with four old men–three on the panel, and one doing an extended introduction. About abortion, no less. I really was so disgusted that I had to leave. I can’t believe I didn’t notice until I got there.

I suspect that there were at least 10 women in the room (like myself) who have taught that article many, many times and could have tagged in with an few hours of notice. We would not be eminences, though.

And by the way, I’m glad this site is here.

Comments are closed.