Talking about “who they’d like to nail” (again)

Posted: August 20, 2011 by Jender in objectifying women

I have lost track of how many times the conversations I have with male graduate students (my department is overwhelmingly male, even by philosophy standards), and even male junior faculty turn to the following topic: What female philosophers or students (even undergrads!) they’d really like to sleep with (or, even better, would be willing to sleep with).

It’s not that I’m naive and I just can’t believe they talk about this. But really, do I have to hear a junior faculty member at my top ten program tell me that that he’d really like to “nail” a very distinguished female philosopher in my field? Do I have to listen to this shit?

And the answer, of course, is yes. Yes, I do have to listen to this shit, time and again.

Comments are closed.