Overlooked women

Posted: June 30, 2013 by Jender in failure to cite/notice

I was at a talk by a very well known male philosopher talking on a subject that is newly popular in general philosophy but had been discussed by feminists some 20 years ago. This philosopher constantly referenced his friend’s (he identified him as a friend) writings from the last five years on the topic. But to my understanding, most of what this friend had said was already written by women in the ’90s. I went up to ask a question about his references, but was cut-off by ‘lack of time.’ So after the Q&A I approached him to ask if he was familiar with the work of A & B philosophers (both women). He said he was. So I asked why he had not cited them instead of his friend. No decent response was given, he told me he thought it was better to cite more recent literature.

Comments are closed.