Do women need to cite more?

Posted: July 3, 2013 by Jender in Uncategorized

I have had my share of problems with my work not being cited, but this posting is not about that. It is about women citing others. So I have recently written a paper with ideas in it that I don’t think people have thought about very much. As a woman I feel these ideas will not be taken seriously by my colleagues, so I cite supporting sources in almost every sentence of the paper. This probably gives an appearance of defensiveness, but I feel that what I have to say in the paper will not be taken seriously otherwise. Well, the citations probably won’t change that, but I have to try.

It does feel odd to write a paper in the awareness that the bar for me to prove my case is so much higher that I feel it is for my male colleagues. But that’s the life.

Comments are closed.