Similar story

Posted: August 11, 2013 by Jender in sexual harassment

After being notified of […] scandal, I was disturbed at how similar this story was to one of my own experiences. This is a brief description of what it was like to be the boyfriend of a harassment victim.

A few years ago, my then-girlfriend took a couple philosophy classes at her university. Her 50-something instructor […] sexually harassed her both in person and via email and Facebook. He would give books under the pretense of helping a young scholar, but his true intentions were revealed when he treated her to lunch and put his hand on her thigh. She declined any more lunch offers, but remained in terse contact with him via email. He eventually began questioning her about her relationship with myself and about how I was clearly a dumb jock out to oppress her. To the both of us, this was strange because I am a really bookish historian and while definitely not a genius, I am pretty far from an athletic he-man from an 80s movie. The only thing this instructor knew about me was that I had attended a Southern university and that I was his student’s boyfriend. What began as teasing turned into him openly denouncing me on Facebook as being unfit and a protofascist. He then emailed me directly in order to denounce me as some kind of caricature of a southern republican misogynist with a penchant for violence in some kind of desperate attempt( on his part) at being a white knight. Apparently this is foreplay in his world. At the time of this incident, I was not yet attending this university, so I didn’t think that I could file a complaint.

My girlfriend was highly intimidated and threatened by his behavior and mentioned it in passing to another faculty member. She was too afraid of repercussions and failed to pursue the matter further. The instructor is still teaching at this university and has a reputation for groping other students.

Comments are closed.