Oh, you mean you have arguments?

Posted: January 16, 2016 by jennysaul in Uncategorized

I’m an undergraduate student in Philosophy, and reading this blog made me think about an experience I had a while ago. I was having a discussion with another undergraduate student, who is male, about a priori truths, which I said I didn’t believe in (not sure I believe that now though!) He responded quite dismissively, but the conversation moved on; later on I was talking to him again we returned to the topic and when I began giving arguments as to why I didn’t believe in them he stopped me and said that he didn’t either, but earlier didn’t think I had actual reasons which was why he responded the way that he had.

I feel that had he been talking to a male peer he wouldn’t have been as dismissive and patronising, and how deep the problem really goes.

Comments are closed.