Maybe this time I’ll finally get that special treatment!

Posted: December 10, 2010 by Jender in women have it easy

This earlier story was from me.

This year I am reapplying to graduate programs in philosophy. Two of my former professors who are writing recommendations for me have independently told me that my chances of being admitted should be very good because of affirmative action (apparently they think programs didn’t notice I was female last year, but they are sure to this year). One professor has mentioned this to me several times just in the last month. The next time one of them brings it up, I would really like to say something like, “Food poisoning feels delightful! Oh, I’m sorry. I thought we were asserting claims that experience should lead us to believe are false.” Of course I won’t, because I would rather they not be irritated with me when they write my recommendations.

On the bright side, I mentioned this to one of my other recommenders, also male, whose response was, “It’s a good reminder that even the brightest of us sometimes have truly idiotic thoughts.”

Comments are closed.